Healthy Summer, Happy Mind!

Hey, everyone!!

Sorry I’ve been on a little break, but I am back now 🙂 As soon as I got home from Vancouver, life happened and I found myself buried in work of all sorts. Not that I hate it, because I love to keep busy- but it does keep me from setting time aside to write posts for you guys.

That being said, I know pretty well that when keeping busy, it’s hard to keep healthy! Between working two jobs, and maintaining and internship, I kick myself in the ass sometimes when I realise I didn’t bring food from home, so I’m forced to grab something kind of yucky.  Or, even worse. I’m so busy I don’t have time to eat a full meal, and I even forget to bring snacks. Finding snacks that are healthy and still yummy can be kind of hard work, so I did it for you! Here are some of my favourite snacks I’ve found this summer 🙂 Let me know if you’ve tried any of these, or if you have any recommendations of your own!

Koukla Delights Organic Macarons 
These little treats are seriously so yummy. Though when you see the “organic, gluten-free, non-GMO, vegan, paleo, dairy free, soy free, no sugar, no agave” text on the packaging and think otherwise. To my surprise, they are packed with flavour. They’re made with organic coconut, almonds, and sweetened with organic maple syrup. My favourite flavours are vanilla and choco coco. You can buy these online for $9.70, but if you’re in Canada you can usually find them at Home Sense, Winners or even Marshalls for 5-7$. Such a steal!

FreeYumm Cookies
I quickly became obsessed with FreeYumm cookies when Håkan’s Mom brought them as a snack on a hike we went on. These are super good, and guilt free! They’re organic and made with all-natural, non-GMO ingredients. So yes, you can easily pronounce all the ingredients listed on the back of the box…. nice change, hey? 😉 My favourite flavours are the Double Chocolate and the Banana Maple cookies. You can find these at your local Whole Foods, Winners, or health store. Extra Tip: Microwave the banana cookies for 10 seconds, then spread almond butter and sprinkle with cacao nibs! Sooooo yummy 🙂

The Juice Truck  
If you know me, you know the obsession I have with a good smoothie or pressed juice. Though when making either of them yourself, it’s trial and error (mostly error), and not to mention kind of pricey (but, worth it!). My favourite juice/smoothie place in Vancouver is The Juice Truck, so you can imagine how excited I was they came out with a cookbook of all their smoothie, juice, and some food recipes as well. If you’re looking for some healthy on the go recipes, I highly recommend this book. It retails for $24.95, and you can order it here. If you happen to order it, try The Almost Chocolate… it’s my personal fav 🙂 Another tip; when ordering whole organic ingredients, it can be pricey. I suggest ordering what you can off Amazon because it is much, much cheaper 🙂

These are just some of the things that keep me on track when I am on the go, or just satisfy my sweet tooth!

xx

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 10.59.55 PM.png

*Disclaimer: This post was in no way sponsored by any of the products discussed. These are my true and honest opinions about the products I have come across and wanted to share*

One thought on “Healthy Summer, Happy Mind!

Leave a Reply

