What Really Matters…

This past month has been considerably stressful, and I’m about to endure some serious changes. I’m not kidding when I say I won’t even recognize my life anymore. If you know me, you know I’m not one to embrace change.. ever. I feel a lot of people are with me on that one. I have a strict routine I must stick too, and a comfort zone I don’t feel the need to leave. Up until this year, I’ve never been given situations I just can’t change, and it’s been the hardest thing for me to accept. Given these situations, I have a really odd way of dealing with things. Somewhat unhealthy people may say. I tend to find comfort and happiness in materialistic things, become very obsessive over the things I can control, or play the blame game. Recently after having this bad month, I purchased a pair of sunglasses in hopes of feeling better. When I didn’t feel better, I felt scared. At this point I felt out of control, mainly because I realized I couldn’t even control myself anymore. I realize I needed to change my mind set, and quick. This opened my eyes to many things. It helped me learn so much, and taught me to turn a blind eye to finding comfort in stuff that doesn’t even really matter. If you’re like me, or simply need to learn new ways to cope with things- I suggest you read the list below of things that helped me. I hope they can help you as well 🙂

1. Acknowledge Your Change, and Face It;
If you’re not a fan of whats going on, it’s gonna go on regardless if you’re sad, happy, miserable, or excited about it. Your out of control situation will always remain what it is, no matter how you feel. So face it, accept it, cope with it, and move forward with it.

2. Confront Your Feelings; 
The best thing you can do when you are imposed with a situation out of your control is facing your fears when it comes to this transition. You can’t control other peoples feelings of the situation, or even control the situation at all. But, by confronting your own feelings you can gain some closure, explore new feelings and see the positives 🙂

3. Stop Fearful Thoughts;
I’m just as bad as the next person when it comes to this, if not worse. In any given situation, all my mind is struck with is ‘what ifs?’. This mostly comes from describing a situation to yourself in a negative way, and scaring yourself. When it comes to being negative, I found you literally must train yourself into thinking positive. You must stop your negative track of thoughts before they spiral out of control, and replace them with some positive thoughts. I found making a list of these positive things helps a lot!

4. Be Flexible and Embrace The Change;
Instead of hiding from what you’re scared of and being defensive in keeping this away from you, be open and flexible in taking on new challenges and tasks! You never know were a situation can take you. Let alone when you are taking it on as a positive, and not a negative!

5. Be Part Of The Change;
Gain an attitude of anticipation and excitement! See change as opportunity. By doing this, you will feel empowered and in control opposed to fearful and out of control.

6. Take It Day By Day;
Because worrying about tomorrow will only take away from your peace of mind today 🙂

Always remember;  Stay proactive, seek positivity, and most importantly; trust yourself!

Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 2.07.27 PM.png

2 thoughts on “What Really Matters…

  1. Hey! Hope your going better I know how difficult change can be! Trust me on that I am also one to stick to a schedule and routine and like to keep to it. These are all great points 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

